Steps to Becoming a Licensed Family Child Care Provider
1. Get a free Family Child Care Provider Information Packet
This packet contains an overview of the training requirements, information on local training options and costs, average rates charged in the area for child care, and other information of use to those starting a child care business in the state of Colorado. Request a copy by completing the Family Child Care Provider Information Packet form under Resources for New Child Care Providers or by calling 303-441-1912.
2. Attend a licensing orientation workshop
We offer Orientation to Family Child Care workshops where the rules, regulations, required training and licensing process for Colorado are reviewed. A State Licensing Application Packet will be provided at the workshop. This workshop is not required to become licensed but is encouraged for those with questions about licensing. Register online by completing the form Register Online for FCC Orientation, Pre-licensing or Universal Cautions under Child Care Provider Training Workshops in Boulder County.
3. Follow the complete instructions in the licensing packet
The packet includes the Rules Regulating Family Child Care Homes, instructions and all required forms to apply for a family child care home license. If you are not able to attend the orientation workshop, packets may be purchased from the Colorado Department of Human Services Division of Early Care and Learning or the Children, Youth & Families office in Boulder.
4. Have your fingerprints taken
Colorado state law requires child care providers and all adult household members who are 18 years of age or older be fingerprinted and complete a criminal background check to screen out child abuse & neglect, domestic abuse and other violent offenders from the child care profession. Fingerprinting is done at most local law enforcement offices for a moderate cost.
5. Complete and mail your application materials
The application form, fingerprint cards for all adult household members, current health examination forms, citizenship/residency affidavit for all household members and the required fees must be submitted together to the Colorado State Division of Early Care and Learning.
6. Attend all required training classes
Before the licensing specialist visits your home you should complete all of the required training classes. Required training includes:
- 15 hours of Pre-licensing which includes a broad range of topics such as child development, business practices, positive guidance technique and parent partnerships;
- 1.5 hours of Universal Precautions;
- 4 hours of Medication Administration, and
- State approved First Aid and CPR classes.
For further information on required Health and Safety training, refer to Child Care Provider Training Workshops in Boulder County or call 303-441-1912.
7. Make the necessary preparations
Start-up preparations will vary from one individual to another. Allow yourself plenty of time for planning, purchasing toys, equipment and supplies, and setting up your child care environment before your home visit is scheduled with the Colorado State Division of Early Care and Learning licensing specialist.
Questions? Refer to Opening a Licensed Family Child Care Home for additional information, or call 303-441-4411.