Important Updates:

Latest Updates Related to the Boulder Shooting and the Investigation. | More Info


The City of Boulder welcomes your feedback. Use our Inquire Boulder customer service tool to tell us what’s on your mind.

  • Human-Services
  • Community Mediation Service
  • Family Services
  • Human-Services-Planning
  • Senior-Services

What Are Protected Classes?

Discrimination is unlawful when carried out because of an individual's race, color, sex or other characteristic protected by law. Such characteristics place people into "protected classes." Everyone belongs to a number of protected classes. For example, we all have a race, marital status and sex.

Boulder currently includes these protected classes:

  • Ancestry
  • Color
  • Creed
  • Gender Variance
  • Genetic Characteristics
  • Immigration Status
  • Marital Status
  • Mental Disability
  • National Origin
  • Physical Disability
  • Race
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Source of Income
  • Age*
  • Pregnancy**
  • Parenthood***
  • Custody of a Minor Child ***

This is not to say that someone of a particular race, religion, sexual orientation, or other quality listed above can never be turned down for housing, employment, or public accommodation. It is to say that none of these characteristics can be factors in decisions regarding housing, employment or public accommodation.

* Age (40 years and older) applies only to the area of Employment

** Pregnancy applies to the area of Employment and Housing

*** These protected classes apply only to the area of Housing