Show/Hide

The City of Boulder welcomes your feedback. Use our Inquire Boulder customer service tool to tell us what’s on your mind.

  • Boulder Revised Code
  • Finance Contacts
  • Budget Division
  • Purchasing Division
  • Tax and Licensing Division

New Online Sales Tax Software

The City of Boulder’s new Tax and Revenue Management System is live!

 

Taxpayers will receive January returns in the mail with new account numbers and a Letter number which can be used to create a web logon on Boulder Online Tax. Taxpayers may still print out a return form and mail it with a payment if desired.

  • Beginning with the February 2020 tax period, the City of Boulder will no longer be mailing tax return forms.

 

City of Boulder Sales Tax Staff will be available for drop-in assistance with the new online tax and revenue system at the Brenton Building, located at 1136 Alpine Ave. on the following dates and times:

February

Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2020 from 10 a.m. to noon

Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2020 from 3 to 5 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 13, 2020 from 4 to 6 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 14, 2020 from 10 a.m. to noon

Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2020 from 3 to 5 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2020 from 4 to 6 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 20, 2020 from 10 a.m. to noon

March

Tuesday, March 17, 2020 from 10 a.m. to noon

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 from 4 to 6 p.m.

Thursday, March 19, 2020 from 2 to 4 p.m.

Friday, March 20, 2020 from 10 a.m. to noon

April

Monday, April 13, 2020 from 10 a.m. to noon

Tuesday, April 14, from 2 to 4 p.m.

Wednesday, April 15, 2020 from 4 to 6 p.m.

Thursday, April 16, 2020 from 2 to 4 p.m.

Friday, April 17, 2020 from 10 a.m. to noon

Monday, April 20, 2020 from 10 a.m. to noon

If you have your own laptop, we highly suggest that you bring it with you as it may speed up our ability to assist you. A limited number of computers will be available if you do not have one to bring, however due to privacy protections, you will not be able to make a tax payment on the shared computers. We can also help you create shortcuts on your computer to make finding the site a little easier.

As part of the implementation planning process, Finance staff has been reviewing the revenue code, city manager’s rule regarding business licensing, and other processes related to the administration and collection of sales and use taxes. Several changes were adopted to better align with government best practices, the city’s resilience strategy, and the city’s climate commitment.

New - City Manager Rule Defining Postmark Date as Proof of Timely Filed and Paid pdf

For the purposes of determining penalties and interest, timely remittance of a return and payment may be evidenced by the postmark date if mailed. Section 3-2-4, "Vendor Liable for Tax,"B.R.C. 1981

New - City Manager Rule Establishing Minimum Requirements for an Application for a Sales and Use Tax License (Business License) or Exempt Institution License pdf

Any statement on a license application that is later found to be incorrect, false, misleading, or incomplete, shall be considered cause to revoke the license. Chapter 3-17, "General Provisions for Tax Compliance," B.R.C. 1981