The City of Boulder has a council-manager form of government. Under this form of government, the elected City Council sets the policies for the operation of the Boulder government. The administrative responsibility of the city rests with the City Manager who is appointed by the City Council.

The City Council consists of nine members, including a mayor and mayor pro tem selected by the council members. City Council members are elected to four-year terms or a two-year term depending how many votes they receive. In November 2016, residents approved term limits; council members may serve up to three terms in a lifetime. The City of Boulder conducts its general elections on the first Tuesday in November of odd numbered years.

No, all City Council members are elected at-large. Each member is elected by and represents the entire city. Council members may serve three terms in a lifetime.

Visit Election Information for details about upcoming elections, including seats on City Council.

Study sessions give City Council the chance to work on a particular issue or set of issues. While council may give direction to city staff during a study session, no votes are cast during these meetings. Both City Council meetings and study sessions are open to the public, but only City Council meetings have open comment/public hearings.

Open comment is held at the beginning of City Council meetings and provides an opportunity for speakers to address any issue(s) NOT scheduled for a public hearing. Sign up online begins 6 p.m. the Thursday prior to the council meeting and closes the following Monday at 2 p.m. Special City Council meetings generally do not have open comment.

Public hearings are identified on the agenda and are separate from open comment. Sign-up online begins at 6 p.m. the Thursday prior to the council meeting and closes at 4 p.m. the day of the meeting.

General inquires can be submitted at Contact City Council. Contact information is available for individual City Council Members.